CORPORATE LAW TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION

REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT FOR THE YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 2004

This Report covers the activities of the Corporate Law Teachers Association (CLTA) for the year ending December 2004.

Executive Committee of the CLTA in 2004

The CLTA constitution in clause 4(b) provides that the Executive Committee of the Association shall be comprised of a President, Secretary, Treasurer, the immediately preceding past President and four other members. Clause 6(d) provides that, in addition, the Executive Committee may co-opt up to three additional members to form part of the Executive Committee.

Based upon these provisions of the constitution, the Executive Committee of the CLTA for 2004 comprised:

- Jennifer Hill, Sydney Law School (President)
- Stephen Bottomley, ANU (Immediate Past President)
- Ian Ramsay, University of Melbourne
- Paula Darvas, Monash University (Secretary and Treasurer)
- Christopher Symes, Flinders University
- Dimity Kingsford-Smith, Monash University
- Vanessa Mitchell, Victoria University of Technology
- Vijaya Nagarajan, Macquarie University
- Larelle Chapple, University of Queensland
- Laurie Factor, Curtin University of Technology

John Nelson of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries also participated in all meetings of the Executive Committee during the year.

2004 CLTA conference

The 2004 CLTA annual conference was hosted by the Centre for Commercial Law at the Faculty of Law, Australian National University on 8 – 10 February 2004. The theme of the conference was "Regulating Corporations".

Many thanks to Stephen Bottomley, Peta Spender, and Anthony Forsyth at ANU for organising an excellent conference.

2005 CLTA conference

The 2005 CLTA annual conference will be hosted by the Ross Parsons Centre of Commercial, Corporate and Taxation Law at Sydney Law School on 6-8 February

2005. Jennifer Hill and Joellen Riley were the responsible academic staff members involved in organising the conference.

Future CLTA conferences

The venue of the 2006 CLTA will be discussed at the 2005 CLTA AGM and the meeting of the Executive Committee to be held at the Sydney conference.

Membership of the Executive Committee for 2005

At the time of writing this report, the composition of the Committee for 2005 has still to determined. Could anyone who is interested in serving on the CLTA Executive, please contact me by email or speak to me at the Sydney conference.

CLTA website

The CLTA website address is "http://users.austlii.edu.au/clta/". An initiative which will be discussed at the 2005 AGM is the idea of using the website as a central point of dissemination for information about scholarship and activities of Australian corporate law teachers relating to, for example, Teaching Innovation; Publications; Working Papers; Corporate Law events.

Expressions of appreciation

There are a number of people I would like to thank. First, thank you to Dr John Nelson for his hard work on behalf of the CLTA, and John's organisation, Chartered Secretaries Australia Ltd, for its sponsorship of the prize for the best paper presented at the annual conference. This support is greatly appreciated.

Thanks as well to all our general sponsors, including Chartered Secretaries Australia Ltd, Lexis Nexis, CCH and Thompson.

Finally, I would like to extend my thanks to members of the Executive Committee who have been a great support, source of sound advice and good ideas for the 2005 Conference, while I have been President and conference organiser this year.

My personal thanks go to Julie Collin, without whom I am sure we could not have held this conference. She has worked tirelessly in organising the 2005 CLTA conference with great energy and competence and constant good humour.

Professor Jennifer Hill (President) Corporate Law Teachers' Association